Skip to content
Yogi Adityanath: second term, a record of 37 years

Besides Yogi Adityanath, 52 ministers were sworn in.

Yogi Adityanath was sworn in as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the second time today after breaking a 37-year record. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief ministers and allies like Nitish Kumar came together in a mega show of force at a crowded stadium in Lucknow.

Besides Yogi Adityanath, 52 ministers have been sworn in, hand-picked by the BJP leadership ahead of the 2024 national elections.

Keshav Prasad Maurya, who lost the UP elections, is back as deputy chief minister. But Dinesh Sharma was replaced by Brahmin leader Brajesh Pathak.

Later that evening, Adityanath held a nearly two-hour meeting of the new cabinet.

The BJP retained power in Uttar Pradesh by winning 255 constituencies out of 403, securing a vote share of 41.29%.

Yogi Adityanath, who led his party to a massive victory, is the first chief minister in 37 years to return to power after completing a full term in the state.

Among his new ministers are Suresh Khanna, Surya Pratap Sahi, Swatandra Dev Singh, Baby Rani Maurya and former bureaucrat AK Sharma.

Jitin Prasada, who left Congress and joined the BJP last year, is back as a minister in the Yogi Adityanath cabinet.

Danish Minister of State Azad Ansari is the only Muslim minister in the new government.

Former police officer Aseem Arun, Daya Shankar Singh, Nitin Agarwal and Kalyan Singh’s grandson Sandip Singh have been appointed Ministers of State (independent office).

Tens of thousands of people filled the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium in Lucknow, many waving BJP flags and shouting slogans as giant screens broadcast the swearing-in. Posters advertising ‘Naye Bharat ka Naya UP’ (New UP of New India) were seen all over the stadium.

Movie personalities like Akshay Kumar, Kangana Ranaut and Boney Kapoor were also invited to the mega swearing-in ceremony. The crew of the recently released controversial Hindi film “The Kashmir Files” was also invited.

Yogi Adityanath had also invited former chief ministers Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati to the swearing-in ceremony. It also made up the Samajwadi party patriarch, Mulayam Singh Yadav.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.