world news Your Wednesday Briefing – The New York Times

news net daily :

The European Union will open its borders to visitors from 15 countries as of today. Those countries do not include the U.S., Brazil or Russia, where coronavirus caseloads continue to balloon.

The list of approved nations includes Australia, Canada and New Zealand; travelers from China will also be allowed in, if China reciprocates. E.U. countries are desperate to restart tourism while preventing new outbreaks.

The decision came as more than 47,000 cases were reported in the U.S. on Tuesday. Dr. Anthony Fauci, the country’s top infectious disease expert, said the number of new infections could reach 100,000 a day if the surges in many states were not contained.

What it means: E.U. officials tried to appear apolitical in their choices, but leaving the U.S. off the list was a high-profile rebuke of the Trump administration’s handling of the crisis.

Source link

Comments are closed.