Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

Will Rahul be able to retain this bastion of the Gandhi family?

Former Congress president Rahul Gandhi will contest from the Rae Bareli Lok Sabha seat, previously represented by his mother and party stalwart Sonia Gandhi.

Known for its strong association with the Gandhi family, Rae Bareli has been a Congress stronghold since the first elections in 1952.

The constituency comprises five Vidhan Sabha seats: Bachhrawan, Harchandpur, Rae Bareli, Sareni and Unchahar.

Of the 20 elections held so far, the Congress has won 17, with former party president Sonia Gandhi winning four consecutive terms from here.


The Rae Bareli Lok Sabha will go to polls in phase 5 on May 20.

List of candidates

Sonia Gandhi has decided not to contest from Rae Bareli in the 2024 Lok Sabha polls. She was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan. Rahul steps in to continue the Gandhi family legacy in Rae Bareli. He is also contesting from the Wayanad seat from where he was elected to the Lok Sabha in 2019.

The BJP has once again fielded Dinesh Pratap Singh, who will challenge Rahul Gandhi. The BSP has nominated Thakur Prasad Yadav. The battle for Raebareli is expected to be intense, especially after the BJP managed to win Amethi, another Gandhi stronghold, in the 2019 elections.

To partyCandidate
INC.Rahul Gandhi
BJPDinesh Pratap Singh
BSPThakur Prasad Yadav
AD(K)Hafiz Mohammad Mobeen
NOTICEDNone of the above

2019 results

In the 2019 elections, Sonia Gandhi defeated BJP’s Dinesh Pratap Singh by a margin of over 1.6 lakh votes, securing 55.80% of the total votes.

To partyCandidateVotes%
INC.Sonia Gandhi534,91855.80
BJPDinesh Pratap Singh367,74038.36
NOTICEDNone of the above10,2521.07


Back to top button