Skip to content

The winner of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway seemingly was meant to take the checkered flag.

Kyle Busch won the Buschy McBusch Race 400 on his 36th birthday. He held off Kevin Harvick by 0.336 seconds after a series of late-race restarts.

Busch won for the first time this season and the 58th time in his Cup career.

He swept the weekend’s races at Kansas, adding the Cup victory to his Truck Series win Saturday night.

Below is more about Busch’s win Sunday, plus the complete results of the race.

MORE: Watch NASCAR racing live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Kyle Busch broke into the win column in 2021, the 17th consecutive year he has won in the Cup Series. He is tied with David Pearson for the second-most years in a row with a win and just one year behind all-time leader Richard Petty.

Busch led the field to green for a two-lap shootout to the finish following the last caution of the day. Harvick challenged on the white-flag lap but ran out of time to overtake him.

Busch won just once in 2020 (Texas fall race) after registering five wins in 2019 en route to his second Cup Series championship.

“It’s hard sometimes when you go through the lulls, you go through the disappointment, you go through dejection and the lack of understanding if you can still do it,” Busch said. “There’s a sense of doubt there for sure. But you just have to keep persevering, keep digging and putting your focus forward.”

Busch won Stage 1 and finished second to Kyle Larson in Stage 2. Larson led the most laps in the race (132 of 267) but finished 19th after a collision with Ryan Blaney on the final restart put his car into the outside wall.

NASCAR results from Kansas

Busch qualified for NASCAR’s Cup Series playoffs two races before the midpoint of the 26-race regular season. The Round of 16 field is quickly filling up as 10 drivers in 11 races have captured wins. Busch’s teammate Martin Truex Jr. is the lone multiple-race winner.

Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Matt DiBenedetto and Chase Elliott completed the top five Sunday.

The next Cup Series race will be at one of NASCAR second-oldest track, Darlington (S.C.) Raceway. The Goodyear 400 is scheduled for Sunday, May 9 (3:30 p.m. ET, FS1, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM Radio). The race will be part of NASCAR’s Throwback Weekend as the organization honors its past with, among other things, recreations of famous paint schemes.

1Kyle Busch
2Kevin Harvick
3Brad Keselowski
4Matt DiBenedetto
5Chase Elliott
6Martin Truex Jr.
7Tyler Reddick
8Chris Buescher
9William Byron
10Austin Dillon
11Daniel Suarez
12Denny Hamlin
13Michael McDowell
14Ross Chastain
15Kurt Busch
16Ryan Newman
17Joey Logano
18Alex Bowman
19Kyle Larson
20Chase Briscoe
21Ryan Blaney
22Austin Cindric
23Anthony Alfredo
24Cole Custer
25Erik Jones
26Bubba Wallace
27Corey LaJoie
28Christopher Bell
29Aric Almirola
30Justin Haley
31BJ McLeod
32Ryan Preece
33Garrett Smithley
34Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
35Joey Gase
36Cody Ware
37Quin Houff
38Matt Mills
39Josh Bilicki

Source link