West Bengal to add seven new districts, says Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee

The West Bengal government led by Mamata Banerjee on Monday decided to add seven new districts to the existing 23 by redrawing their boundaries for better development and administration.

Banerjee, the chief minister, said the previous 23 districts in West Bengal have now grown to 30. The new districts include Ichhemati, Sunderban, Bishnupur, Ranaghat, Behrampur, Jangipur and another district will be named in Basirhat.

BJP’s Amit Malviya said the CM’s decision tries to divert attention from the SSC scam. “She has to explain where a debt-trapped West Bengal government is getting money from to run new districts. With Paresh Adhikari still in his cabinet, new faces won’t wash away the stain,” the agency said. press release quoting Malviya.

The ED had also raided the home of the state’s education minister, Adhikari, in connection with the SSC scam.

Banerjee had earlier announced there would be a cabinet reshuffle on Wednesday and there would be around five new faces. This came after Partha Chatterjee was arrested in the scam. Chatterjee was the minister responsible for the departments of IT and electronics, industry, trade and enterprise, industrial construction, parliamentary affairs and public enterprises.

Banerjee then took charge of departments last week, making her responsible for 11 departments in total.

Banerjee said the government does not plan to dissolve the entire ministry and form a new one, but there will be a reshuffle.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button