Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.
California NewsUSA

UC Riverside’s 47th Writers Week festival set for February – Press Enterprise

UC Riverside’s 47th annual Writers Week Festival will return in February to salute three authors.

Scheduled for February 10 through February 12-16, the event will recognize Dave Eggers, Quincy Troupe and Rigoberto González. They will receive the Los Angeles Review of Books/UCR Department of Creative Writing Lifetime Achievement Awards, a UCR press release states. It will also feature 52 writers.

In 2022, Eggers, a bestselling author, offered South Dakota high school students free copies of his book “The Circle” and copies of four books by other authors that were removed from district schools. He founded an independent publishing house in San Francisco.

Troupe is a poet, biographer, journalist and professor who has written about jazz legend Miles Davis. He co-wrote “The Pursuit of Happyness,” which later became a film starring Will Smith.

González is an author and poet born in Bakersfield and raised in Mexico. He comes from a family of migrant farm workers.

The public is invited to attend this free festival, co-sponsored by the UCR Creative Writing Department and the LA Review of Books. It is the state’s longest-running free literary festival, according to the release.

Rigoberto González will receive a Los Angeles Review of Books/UCR Department of Creative Writing Lifetime Achievement Award at UC Riverside’s 47th annual Writers Week festival in February. (Photo by Arturo Holmes/Getty Images)

There will be in-person and virtual sessions.

“We are thrilled to bring together in one week an incredible representation of all areas of literature for a sensational foray into the best of the best literature of today,” said Allison Adelle Hedge Coke, co-director of Writers Week and distinguished professor of creative writing. in the version. “There is something here for every reader.”

A paid post-festival celebration is also planned for February 16.

Writers featured at this year’s event will include: Noah Arjomand, Rilla Askew, Reza Aslan, Brendan Shay Basham, Lou Berney, Erik Bitsui, Kimberly Blaeser, Kate Bolton Bonnici, Aaron C. Boothby, Marie Alohalani Brown, Elena Karina Byrne , Lizzie Davis. , Marsha De La O, Stacie Denetsosie, Daisy Ocampo Diaz, Jose Hernandez Diaz, Emily Marie Passos Duffy, Dave Eggers, Farnaz Fatemi, Tanya Frank, Rigoberto González, Tim Z. Hernandez, Minda Honey, Laird Hunt, Jessica Johns, George M Johnson, Megan Kamalei Kakimoto, Randi LeClair, Donato Martinez, Maceo Montoya, Miguel Morales, Sandra Meek, Leah Myers, Jesse Nathan, Cindy Yuyoung Ok, Cati Porter, Jason Magabo Perez, Marcie Rendon, Robert Roensch, Andrea Rogers, Prageeta Sharma, Matthew Shenoda, Eleni Sikelianos, Melissa Studdard, Tess Taylor, Lisa Teasley, Justin Torres, Quincy Troupe, Katherine Vaz, Vickie Vértiz, Marc Vincenz and Issam Zineh.

Registrations will open in January.

For more information, click here.

California Daily Newspapers

Back to top button