Skip to content
Three Miami Dolphins make All-Rookie team – The Denver Post

 | News Today

Three Miami Dolphins make All-Rookie team – The Denver Post

| Breaking News Updates | Today Headlines

The Miami Dolphins had three players on the All-Rookie Pro Football Writers of America team after the 2021 season: wide receiver Jaylen Waddle, outside linebacker Jaelan Phillips and safety Jevon Holland.

Miami’s first three players selected in the 2021 NFL Draft have proven to be a record-breaking group in the regular season. Waddle, taken with the No. 6 pick, set an NFL rookie receptions record with 104 catches. Phillips, the 18th pick from the University of Miami, broke a franchise rookie mark with 8 ½ sacks.

Waddle, who was also voted the team’s MVP by local media, finished with 1,015 receiving yards, six touchdowns and another rushing touchdown. Phillips, who made the PFWA team as a defensive lineman selection, had 42 tackles and a fumble recovery, as well as his sack total. The versatile Holland, caught early in the second round, had 69 tackles, two interceptions, 2 ½ sacks, 10 pass deflections and a pair of fumble recoveries.

The success of the Dolphins’ top three selections in the 2021 draft was a refreshing rebound from quarterback Tua Tagovailoa’s three first-round picks in 2020 against Justin Herbert, offensive lineman Austin Jackson and cornerback Noah Igbinoghene.

The wide receiver who made the team alongside Waddle was Ja’Marr Chase of the Cincinnati Bengals, who was also named the PFWA Offensive Rookie of the Year. The Atlanta Falcons’ Kyle Pitts, a Florida graduate who the Dolphins also bypassed in the draft with their moves from third to 12th and eventually sixth, was also part of the tight end.

Denver Broncos cornerback Patrick Surtain II, the product of American Heritage and son of former Dolphins cornerback of the same name, was also on the rookie team.

Mac Jones of the New England Patriots was the rookie quarterback, while the two running backs were Najee Harris of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Javonte Williams of the Broncos.

Only the Kansas City Chiefs – center Creed Humphrey, guard Trey Smith and linebacker Nick Bolton – and the Cleveland Browns – linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, cornerback Greg Newsome II and returner Demetric Felton – have had three selections, like the Dolphins.

The overall rookie of the year was Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons, who was also the defensive rookie of the year.

On Monday, Dolphins cornerback Xavien Howard was a PFWA All-AFC selection.

Three Miami Dolphins make All-Rookie team – The Denver Post

| Business Top Stories World news

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.