Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

The Academy of Country Music Awards are here

Reba McEntire to host Thursday’s show Academy of Country Music Awardspromising an evening of memorable performances, including a tribute to Toby Keith.

When McEntire takes the stage at the Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, Texas, just north of Dallas, it will be a record for the 17th time she hosts the show.

“I love the awards show because it’s almost like a family reunion,” she recently told the Associated Press.

This year’s nominees range from veteran artists to new talents, including the much-loved Jelly Roll. This year marks the first time he has received nominations from the ACM; he’s up for entertainer of the year, male artist of the year, single of the year (for “Need a Favor,” which won big at the the CMT Music Awards last month) and musical event of the year, for “Save Me” with Lainey Wilson. The last time a musician was named entertainer of the year in his first round of ACM Awards nominations was Billy Ray Cyrus in 1992.

The ACM festivities actually began before Thursday’s event, when the New Artist of the Year awards were presented Tuesday during the ACM Country Kickoff fan festival at the Star: Megan Moroney won the New Female Artist of the Year award, Nate Smith won in the male category, and Tigirlily Gold won the New Duo or Group award.

Here’s what you need to know before the ACM’s main attraction begins.


The 2024 ACM Awards will be broadcast on Main video and the Amazon Music channel on Twitch Live at 8 p.m. Eastern. A red carpet stream will be available on Prime Video, Amazon Music Channel on Twitch, and Amazon Live at 7 p.m. Eastern.


Luc Combs leads the Appointments 2024 with eight nods. For the fifth year in a row, he was named Male Artist of the Year and Entertainer of the Year.

Combs’ eight nominations include a first-time nomination for Tracy Chapman. His recovery of his “Fast Car” is in the running for song of the year, a category that recognizes songwriters and publishers in addition to artists. Last year, Chapman’s 1988 song won song of the year at the Country Music Awards for Combs’ cover, making her the first black songwriter to win in the category.

Morgan Wallen and Moroney closely follow Combs’ nominations with six each, while Cody Johnson, Chris Stapleton and Wilson are tied with five.

Jordan Davis and Jelly Roll have four nominations.


Jason Aldean will perform the tribute to Keith, who died in February.

“I’ve been a fan of his since the beginning and his songs were some of the first songs I played in clubs early in my career, including the one I’ll be playing on the show,” he said in a report. “It means a lot to be able to honor him and properly celebrate his iconic career and legacy.” He was one of a kind.

In addition to Aldean: Kane Brown, Jelly Roll, Miranda Lambert, Thomas Rhett, Post Malone, Parker McCollum, Johnson, McEntire, Wilson and Stapleton will also perform during the telecast.

Fans can also expect some interesting collaborations: Kelsea Ballerini with Noah Kahan; Blake Shelton and Gwen Stefani and Smith with Avril Lavigne.


Associated Press writer Gary Hamilton contributed to this report.


For more coverage of this year’s ACM Awards, visit https://apnews.com/hub/academy-of-country-music-awards

Gn entert
News Source : apnews.com

Back to top button