San Jose Sharks’ Patrick Marleau ruled out

SAN JOSE – Former San Jose Sharks forward Patrick Marleau was not elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame on Tuesday in his first year of eligibility.

Former NHL players Pavel Datsyuk, Shea Weber and former Sharks forward Jeremy Roenick were elected to the Hall, as were players Natalie Darwitz and Krissy Wendell-Pohl. Colin Campbell and David Poile were elected in the Manufacturers category.

Roenick played with the Sharks from 2007 to 2009 to end his 20-year NHL career. He had 46 points in 111 regular season games in San Jose and six points in 18 playoff games.

Roenick’s most memorable game for the Sharks came on April 22, 2008, when he recorded two goals and two assists in San Jose’s 5–3 victory over the Calgary Flames in Game 7 of the their first-round playoff series.

Roenick scored 513 goals and 1,216 points during his career in 1,363 regular season games.

With his final game in 2021, it was the first year Marleau, 44, was eligible.

Marleau played an NHL record 1,779 games during a 23-year NHL career that began in 1997, when he was the Sharks’ second overall draft pick. He played 21 seasons in San Jose, including two with the Toronto Maple Leafs and a brief stint with the Pittsburgh Penguins at the end of the pandemic-affected 2019-20 season.

Marleau passed Gordie Howe for the most games played during the 2020-2021 season. He also ranks 24th all-time in regular season goals, scoring 566, and 53rd with 1,197 points.

Marleau did not win the Stanley Cup or any major individual awards as a player, but did win two Olympic gold medals with Canada in 2010 and 2014.

Every retired player who scored more NHL regular season goals than Marleau is already in the Hall, and now, all but two players who have more points than Marleau – Bernie Nicholls (1,209) and Vincent Damphousse ( 1,205) – were also inducted. Nicholls and Damphousse are former Sharks.

Joe Thornton, who spent 15 seasons with the Sharks, had 1,539 points during his 24-year NHL career, but he won’t be eligible until next year.

An 18-member committee comprised of executives, media members, former players and coaches reviewed potential candidates through a formal selection process.

Committee members can only appoint one person in the players category, the builders category and the referees or linesmen category. Applications had to be submitted by April 15.

California Daily Newspapers

Back to top button