World News

Rohit Sharma absent from 1st Test against Bangladesh, KL Rahul will lead India in his absence

India captain Rohit Sharma was ruled out of Sunday’s first test against Bangladesh with a thumb injury. BCCI have named Abhimanyu Easwaran as their replacement for the opening test, which starts on Wednesday, December 14. Rohit had taken a knock to his left thumb, while on the pitch in the second ODI against Bangladesh earlier this week in Mirpur, and was later taken for scans. at a local hospital. Easwaran enters the team having scored 299 points in two games for the Indian “A” team currently on tour in Bangladesh. KL Rahul will lead the team in his absence.

BCCI also said they would later take a call about Rohit’s availability for the second and final test.

“Indian captain Rohit Sharma has seen a specialist in Mumbai for his left thumb injury, which he suffered in the 2nd ODI against Bangladesh. He has been advised of proper treatment for the injury and will not be available for the first test against Bangladesh.The BCCI Medical Team will take a call on his availability for the second and final test at a later stage.The All India Senior Selection Committee has appointed Abhimanyu Easwaran as his replacement for the first test,” BCCI said in a statement.

Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar have also been added to the Indian squad, with point guard Mohammed Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja yet to recover from their respective injuries.

Veteran pacer Jaydev Unadkat has also been recalled to the side after his performances in the national circuit with Saurashtra.

“Fast bowler Mohd. Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja have yet to fully recover from their respective shoulder and knee injuries and are ruled out of the Test series. Coaches have named Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar as replacements of Shami and Jadeja respectively. The selection committee has also added fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat to the India squad for the Test series,” the statement added.

India team updated for Bangladesh testing: KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat

Topics discussed in this article


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button