Skip to content
Revamped NASCAR Cup Series schedule for 2022, adds St. Louis

NASCAR is shaking up its schedule again.

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA – SEPTEMBER 11: Fireworks erupt as members of the military and first responders hold the American flag and the 9/11 Never Forget in pre-race ceremonies ahead of the NASCAR Cup Federated Series Auto Parts 400 Tribute to First Responders at Richmond Raceway on September 11, 2021 in Richmond, Virginia. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton / Getty Images)

After adding several new tracks to the Cup Series in 2021, next season will kick off with the first-ever Clash exhibition race held on a temporary track inside the LA Coliseum and will see the Worldwide Technology Raceway for the first time at the exterior of St. Louis.

California’s Auto Club Speedway also made a surprise comeback on February 27, the week after the Daytona 500. NASCAR believed it had its last race on the 2-mile oval in 2020, after which it was due to be upgraded to a short track. but the plans were put on hold. The Fontana, Calif., Track will take the spot held this year by Miami-Homestead, which will once again become a playoff venue as the second race of the Round of 8 on October 23. and moves the Kansas Raceway to its location on September 11.

Changes to the 39-race slate also include the double-title Pocono Raceway weekend becoming a single-race event, the Bristol Dirt race taking place on the evening of Easter Sunday, April 17, and the road race. at Watkins Glen becoming the penultimate race of the regular season.

CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP

The Daytona Road Course is the only 2021 venue that will not return.

Along with the updated schedule, the Cup Series will also launch its all-new Next Gen car in 2022.

Here’s a look at the full 2022 schedule with all the changes:

REGULAR SEASON:

Sunday February 6 – Clash (LA Memorial Coliseum)

Thursday February 17 – Duel in Daytona

Sunday February 20 – DAYTONA 500

Sunday February 27 – Auto Club

Sunday March 6 – Las Vegas

Sunday March 13 – Phoenix

Sunday March 20 – Atlanta

Sunday March 27 – COTA

Sunday April 3 – Richmond

Saturday April 9 – Martinsville

Sunday April 17th – Bristol Dirt

Sunday April 24 – Talladega

Sunday May 1 – Dover

Sunday May 8 – Darlington

Sunday May 15 – Kansas

Sunday, May 22 – All-Star (Texas)

Sunday May 29 – Charlotte

Sunday June 5 – World Wide Technology Raceway

Sunday June 12 – Sonoma

Sunday June 26 – Nashville Superspeedway

Sunday July 3 – Road America

Sunday July 10 – Atlanta

Sunday July 17 – New Hampshire

Sunday July 24 – Pocono

Sunday July 31 – Indianapolis Road Course

Sunday August 7 – Michigan

Sunday August 14 – Richmond

Sunday August 21 – Watkins Glen

Saturday August 27 – Daytona

Playoff SERIES:

Sunday September 4 – Darlington

Sunday September 11 – Kansas

Saturday September 17 – Bristol

Sunday September 25 – Texas

Sunday October 2 – Talladega

Sunday October 9 – Charlotte Roval

Sunday October 16 – Las Vegas

Sunday October 23 – Homestead-Miami

Sunday October 30 – Martinsville

Sunday November 6 – Phoenix