Skip to content
Rajiv Kumar takes over as 25th Chief Election Commissioner

Former Finance Secretary and current Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar took office as India’s 25th Chief Election Commissioner in Nirvachan Sadan, New Delhi on Sunday. He took office after CEC holder Sushil Chandra retired on May 14.

He is likely to step down from office in February 2025. During his tenure, Kumar will oversee the 2024 Lok Sabha elections and several Assembly polls as well as the elections for President and Vice President of India.

Read also

During his tenure as Election Commissioner, elections were held for the state assemblies of Bihar in 2020, Assam, Kerala, Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal amid concerns over the COVID in March-April 2021, as well as elections in Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand, and Uttar Pradesh recently in early 2022.

(Edited by : Priyanka Deshpande)

First post: STI


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.