Skip to content
Prez accepts resignations of Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, RCP Singh;  Smriti Irani appointed Minister of Minority Affairs

Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia gets additional responsibility from Steel Ministry

Following the resignation of Union Ministers Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and RCP Singh, President Ram Nath Kovind entrusted Minister of Women and Child Development Smriti Irani and Minister of Civil Aviation Jyotiraditya Split the additional portfolios of the Ministry of Minority Affairs and the Ministry of Steel, respectively. Photographic composite: PTI

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind has accepted the resignations of Union Ministers Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Ram Chandra Prasad Singh with immediate effect, according to a statement from Rashtrapati Bhavan on Wednesday.

According to Rashtrapati Bhavan’s statement, “…as advised by the Prime Minister, the President has directed that Smriti Zubin Irani, Cabinet Minister, be put in charge of the Ministry of Minority Affairs, in addition to his existing portfolio.” Cabinet Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia has been given charge of the Steel Ministry, in addition to his current portfolio.

Previously, Union Ministers Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and RCP Singh resigned from the Cabinet a day before their terms in Rajya Sabha ended.

With their terms as MPs for Rajya Sabha due to end on Thursday, the two ministers tendered their resignations to fulfill the constitutional obligation as they will cease to be MPs from Friday.

According to reports, Prime Minister Narendra Modi praised Naqvi and Singh for their contribution to the country and the people during the Cabinet meeting on Wednesday.

Naqvi, a senior BJP leader, is also the deputy head of the Rajya Sabha. The BJP did not nominate Naqvi for another term in the recent elections for the upper house of parliament.

Singh is a member of the BJP’s alliance partner, JD(U).

With the end of Naqvi’s Rajya Sabha term, the saffron party will have no Muslim lawmakers among its 395 MPs.

What’s next for Naqvi and Singh

RCP Singh, who belongs to Bihar CM Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) party, was sworn in as a minister in the Modi government on July 7, 2021.

However, in recent Rajya Sabha polls, Nitish Kumar refused a ticket to RCP Singh, ANI reported.

As for Naqvi, there has been speculation that he will be nominated as the vice-presidential candidate of the BJP-led NDA. Elections for the position will take place on August 6.

The mandate of the current vice-president M Venkaiah Naidu will end on August 10.

With contributions from agencies

Read all Recent news, New trends, Cricket News, bollywood news,
India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.