Masks recommended in 3 Illinois counties with ‘high’ COVID community level – NBC Chicago

Masks are advised in three Illinois counties that have returned to “high” COVID community level status following an increase in weekly measures, according to the latest update from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

On Friday, Knox, Saline and Warren counties would all have “high” community status.

Counties at a “high” community level are experiencing high levels of COVID-19 hospitalizations, percentages of staffed beds occupied by COVID patients, or dramatic increases in overall case counts.

As of Friday, Knox County was experiencing 92.56 cases per 100,000 population, 22.5 COVID-19 admissions per 100,000 population and 7% of staffed inpatient beds being used by COVID-19 patients, said the CDC. Saline County reported 200.08 cases per 100,000 population, 19.3 new COVID admissions per 100,000 population, and 2.7% of staffed beds used by COVID-19 patients. The third county with “high” status, Warren County, had 94.99 cases per 100,000 population, 22.5 new COVID-19 admissions per 100,000 population and 7% of staffed beds occupied by COVID patients. .

Residents of the three counties are advised to take precautions against the virus, including wearing masks in indoor spaces and staying away from large gatherings if they are immunocompromised or have other common risk factors for serious illness if they contract COVID.

The following precautions are recommended at all three community levels – “low”, “medium” and “high” – stay up to date on vaccines, including reminders, avoid contact with those who have a confirmed or suspected case of COVID-19 , following the recommendations for isolation if you have COVID or think you may have contracted it and follow the recommendations on what to do if you are exposed.

At “medium” status, anyone at high risk of becoming seriously ill should wear a high-quality mask or respirator, such as an N95, when in public indoors. Also, if you are in contact with another high-risk person, consider self-testing for infection before contact, according to the CDC.

Of the 102 counties in the state, the following 23 counties were ranked at the “average” community level:

  • County of Champagne
  • Coles County
  • Cumberland County
  • Douglas County
  • Effingham County
  • Fayette County
  • Ford County
  • Franklin County
  • Gallatin County
  • Greene County
  • Hardin County
  • Henderson County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jo Daviess County
  • Morgan County
  • Perry County
  • Pope County
  • Scott County
  • Shelby County
  • Stephenson County
  • Wayne County
  • Williamson County

NBC Chicago

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button