Skip to content
Karnataka BJP recommends BSY’s son BY Vijayendra for upcoming MLC elections

Vijayendra was appointed vice-president of the state BJP in July 2020 and has reportedly expressed interest in contesting the 2023 assembly elections from one of the seats in the former Mysuru region.

BY Vijayendra with his father, former Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa. News18

Son of former Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa, BY Vijayendra has been recommended as a candidate for the upcoming MLC elections in Karnataka. His name had been forwarded to the party’s central election committee, which took the final call.

According to The statesman, that a consensus has been reached in the state unit of the party for Vijayendra to be inducted into the ministry in the upcoming reshuffle. A person must be a Member of Provincial Parliament to become a Minister.

Vijayendra was appointed Vice President of the State BJP in July 2020, and after that he toured the state and got good responses especially from the youths.

Vijayendra has reportedly expressed interest in participating in the 2023 assembly elections from one of the seats in the former Mysuru region and has expressed interest in working in the same region, a party source said.

If he manages to get elected as an MLC, there will be a demand for his induction into the cabinet of Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai as his father had resigned as Chief Minister in July of the year. year, a BJP leader said. BJP central leaders may reconsider the state central committee’s decision as the party’s decision on Vijayendra may face backlash from leaders who have worked for the BJP for many years, a senior official said. leader.

According to The statesman, people already see Vijayendra as the successor of Yediyurappa, his father. In addition, he has good relations with the high command and a strong base of support in the state unity of the party. Yediyurappa is also putting his weight behind his son and pushing to take on more responsibilities in the party and pushing for his son to become a state cabinet minister. The MLC election will take place on June 3.

According to Indian Express, the central committee has also recommended the re-election of Nirmala Sitharaman to Rajya Sabha, sources said. The names of outgoing Rajya Sabha member KC Ramamurthy, outgoing MLC Lehar Singh Siroya, Nirmal Kumar Surana and entrepreneur Prakash Shetty are circling for the second seat. Of Karnataka’s four Rajya Sabha seats, the BJP can win at least two and the Congress one.

Read all Latest news, New trends, Cricket News, bollywood news,
India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.