Skip to content

Fans feeling the need for speed will have 17 races to get their fix.

While the F1 season officially got underway at the Austrian GP on July 5, the schedule for the remainder of the year is starting to fill out, with 17 races officially on the calendar for the 2020 season, with Abu Dhabi officially ending the year once again.

Originally scheduled to feature a record 22 races, the F1 season was lopped to just 13, given the coronavirus pandemic’s effect on the sports world. Formula 1 has had 15 races either canceled, postponed or pending for the remainder of the year.

Originally, the Dutch Grand Prix was slated to make a return after an absence of 35 years, but the GP has unfortunately been banged, one of seven races officially canceled on the year. But making its return in the shortened season is the Bahrain Grand Prix at Istanbul Park Circuit, the first time the course is being run since 2011.

Five more races have been postponed, but with no makeup dates announced. 

In its truest form, the 2020 F1 season is going to be a sprint, and everything you need to know about the shortened schedule can be found below.

(All times Eastern)

Formula 1 2020 schedule

In all, there are 17 official races on the docket for the 2020 Formula One World Championship. FIA was looking to secure at least 15 races for the 2020 F1 season, while the traditional season finale at Abu Dhabi is on the docket for December.

DateRaceCourseStart timeTV channelWinner
July 5Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring9:10 a.m.ESPNValtteri Boltas
July 12Styrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
July 19Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroring9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
Aug. 2British Grand PrixSilverstone9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
Aug. 970th Anniversary Grand PrixSilverstone9:10 a.m.ESPNMax Verstappen
Aug. 16Spanish Grand PrixCircuit de Catalunya9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
Aug. 30Belgian Grand PrixSpa-Francorchamps9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
Sept. 6Italian Grand PrixMonza9:10 a.m.ESPNPierre Gasly
Sept. 13Tuscan Ferrari 1000 Grand PrixMugello9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
Sept. 27Russian Grand PrixSochi Autodrom7:10 a.m.ESPNValtteri Bottas
Oct. 11Eifel Grand PrixNurburgring8:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
Oct. 25Portuguese Grand PrixAlgarve International Circuit 9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
Nov. 1Emilia Romagna Grand PrixAutodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari7:10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Nov. 13Turkish Grand PrixIstanbul Park CircuitTBDTBDTBD
Nov. 29Bahrain Grand PrixBahrain International CircuitTBDTBDTBD
Dec. 6Sakhir Grand PrixBahrain International CircuitTBDTBDTBD
Dec. 13Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina CircuitTBDTBDTBD

Formula 1 2020 canceled races

Unfortunately, of F1’s original record 22-race schedule, a lot of scheduled GPs are now canceled in their entirety, including drivers’ returns to the Netherlands for the Dutch Grand Prix.

While some races are awaiting rescheduling, the following have been officially canceled.

RaceOriginal dateCircuit
Australian Grand PrixMarch 15Albert Park
Dutch Grand PrixMay 3Zandvoort
Monaco Grand PrixMay 24Monaco
Azerbaijan Grand PrixJune 7Baku City
French Grand PrixJune 28Paul Ricard
Singapore Grand PrixSept. 20Marina Bay
Japanese Grand PrixOct. 11Suzuka International

Source link