Skip to content
Delhi Police Advice on Routes to Avoid

General traffic will be diverted from specific routes from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

New Delhi:

Traffic police have made arrangements to ensure smooth vehicular traffic in central Delhi where restrictions were imposed on Thursday when Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the new Kartavya Path – a stretch from Rashtrapati Bhavan to India Gate.

General traffic will be diverted to specific routes from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m., officials said Wednesday.

Delhi Police said arrangements have been made to facilitate pedestrian safety and ensure smooth traffic flow in the New Delhi area.

According to the traffic advisory, vehicle traffic will be diverted from roads such as Tilak Marg (from Hexagon C to the junction of Bhagwan Dass Road), Purana Quila Road (from Hexagon C to Mathura Road), Shershah Road ( from Hex C to Mathura Road), Dr Zakir Hussain Marg (from Hex C to Subramanian Bharti Marg Junction), Pandara Road (from Hex C to Subramanian Bharti Marg Junction), Shahjahan Road (from Hex C at point Q), Akbar Road (from C-hexagon to Mansingh Road Roundabout) and Ashoka Road (from C-hexagon to R/A Jaswant Singh Road).

Traffic will also be diverted to KG Marg (from C-hexagon to Madhav Rao Scindia Marg Crossing) and Copernicus Marg (from C-hexagon to Madhav Rao Scindia Marg Crossing), the notice adds.

Commuters using two-wheelers, three-wheelers and four-wheelers are advised to plan their journey in advance and avoid roads such as W-Point, Mathura Road, Ashoka Road, Q-Point, Prithvi Raj Road, Akbar Road, Subramanian Bharti Marg, APJ Abdul Kalam Road, Rajesh Pilot Marg, he says.

Similarly, the roundabouts near Windsor Place and Claridge Hotel, Man Singh Road, MLNP Roundabout, Janpath, Firoz Shah Road, Mandi House Roundabout and Sikandra Road are expected to experience heavy traffic.

The notice stated that the diversion for buses would start at Moti Bagh Junction on Ring Road, Bhikaji Cama Junction on Ring Road, South Foot of Lodhi Flyover, ITO, IP-Vikas Marg Flyover, Ring Road-Yamuna Bazar , Tis Hazari-R/A Mori Gate Junction, Panchkuian Road (Dayal Chowk), AIIMS flyover, SBM-Mathura Road, Neela Gumbad, Ashram Chowk, NH-24-Ring Road, Ring Road-ISBT, ISBT-T point and Dhaula Kuan from 6 p.m. and will remain in effect until 9 p.m.

The Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC), Delhi Integrated Multi-Modal Transit System (DIMTS) and other public transport authorities are also requested to plan the movement of their fleet vehicles in advance and avoid the aforementioned roads, indicates the opinion.

The DTC has also been asked to arrange a ‘park and ride’ facility from the following pick-up points to C-hexagon – Bhairon Road, Rajghat, Connaught Place and JLN Stadium, the traffic police notice added .

(Except for the title, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.