Clyde Frazier appears to break Dick Barnett Hall of Fame news before announcement

Walt “Clyde” Frazier may have announced a little news during Tuesday night’s Knicks broadcast on MSG Network.

While the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame won’t announce the Class of 2024 until Saturday, Frazier revealed in advance that Knicks legend Dick Barnett will soon be enshrined in the hall.

“Dick Barnett, great news, he’s been inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame,” Frazier said during a break in the action of what would become a 109-99 Knicks loss to the Heat.

Dick Barnett could soon be enshrined in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. P.A.

“Is this official?” asked play-by-play manager Mike Breen in response. “Oh, that’s fantastic Clyde.”

Breen quickly realized or was informed that the news was not yet public and said that Frazier “must have inside information.”

“Earl the Pearl called me and told me,” Frazier said.

“It’s so wonderful,” Breen replied.

Barnett, who is one of two veteran finalists on the committee, is more than deserving of the honor, and the news surely brought smiles to Knicks fans everywhere.

The legendary Knicks shooting guard played eight seasons in New York and is one of seven players to have their number hanging from the rafters at Madison Square Garden.

Barnett was a member of the Knicks’ two championship runs in 1970 and 1973 and played in the NBA All-Star Game as a Knick in 1968.

He remains the franchise’s ninth-highest scorer with 9,442 points.

Barnett’s success on the court extends beyond his time with the Knicks, leading Tennessee A&I University to three consecutive NAIA national championships and making the school the first Historically Black College or University (HBCU) to winning a men’s basketball title in 1957.

The team was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2019

Walt “Clyde” Frazier then appears to have news of Knicks legend Dick Barnett’s Hall of Fame nomination. Getty Images for Tribeca Festival

The Hall of Fame announced the 14 finalists for the Class of 2024 in February, and the official inductees will be named during the Men’s Final Four taking place in Phoenix, Arizona.

Other finalists in this year’s class include Seimone Augustus, Chauncey Billups and Vince Carter.

New York Post

Back to top button