Chris Billam-Smith put his opponent to sleep before hitting the canvas with a thunderous right hook knockout
Chris Billam-Smith comes up against a heavy hitter in Lawrence Okolie on Saturday night, but he also has his own punch.
Last time out, when Billam-Smith fought Armend Xhoxhaj in December 2022, he recorded arguably his best career knockout.
In the fifth round of their fight, Billam-Smith unleashed a barrage of punches on his opponent and a right hook broke through.
As soon as the crushing blow landed, Xhoxhaj was knocked out, but it took his body a few seconds to realize it as he fell back to the canvas.
Billam-Smith has since reacted to the knockout on sky sportsLooking back at him, as he said, “So I was trying to get inside of him, trying the right uppercut there, and then I’m going with him now on the right uppercut.
“And then I just rallied left and right and then he dropped his hand at the end and I managed to land that right hook that ended the fight and put me in the position that I am now.
“Celebrated like I did because I’ve never knocked someone out like that, so usually I just celebrate umpires and that’s fine.
“But Shane [McGuigan] rightly came and calmed me down.”
Attention then turned to his WBO world title clash on Saturday night with Lawrence Okolie and Billam-Smith was asked by the interviewer: “So nobody can take that power?”
“No, no one,” Billam-Smith replied.
“Laurent? the interviewer said, as Billam-Smith again replied, “No.”