Skip to content
Becky Hammon, DeLisha Milton-Jones and Penny Taylor in Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame class

Former WNBA stars Becky Hammon, DeLisha Milton-Jones and Penny Taylor are among eight inductees who will enter the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Tennessee on June 11, it was announced Monday.

They will be joined by current DePaul coach Doug Bruno, former coaches Paul Sanderford and Bob Schneider, contributor Debbie Antonelli and veteran player Alice “Cookie” Barron. The 2022 induction will honor the hall’s 23rd class, which opened in 1999.

Taylor enters the venue the year after fellow Australian Lauren Jackson. Taylor won three WNBA titles with the Phoenix Mercury during a 13-season WNBA career. She helped Australia win two silver medals at the Olympics, as well as a gold and two bronze at the FIBA ​​Women’s World Championship (now known as the World Cup).

Milton-Jones won two WNBA titles with the Los Angeles Sparks during a 17-season WNBA career. She won the Wade Trophy as a senior in Florida in 1997 and was part of two gold-medal winning U.S. Olympic teams. She won two gold medals and a bronze with the Americans at the World Championship. Milton-Jones is currently head coach of the Old Dominion women, who are 19-5 overall and 9-3 in Conference USA.

Hammon is completing his eighth season as assistant coach of the San Antonio Spurs, then will take over as head coach of the WNBA’s Las Vegas Aces for the 2022 season. Hammon played collegiate at Colorado State, then spent 16 seasons in the WNBA, split evenly between New York and San Antonio. She won a bronze medal with Russia at the 2008 Olympics.

Bruno is in her 36th season as a women’s coach at her alma mater, DePaul. He has a career record of 756-364 and has taken the Blue Demons to the NCAA Tournament 24 times. DePaul is currently 20-7 overall and 12-4 in the Big East.

Sanderford appeared in the Women’s Final Four three times as Western Kentucky coach and also won a junior college national championship in 1981 at Louisburg College in North Carolina. He was 453-189 as a Division I head coach, including five years at Nebraska.

Schneider won 634 games as a collegiate coach, most of those in 25 seasons at NCAA Division II West Texas A&M. He also won five state championships while coaching women’s basketball at Canyon High School in Texas. Her son, Brandon Schneider, is the current head coach of the Kansas women’s team.

Antonelli is a former NC State player who has served as a basketball analyst for the past 34 seasons, including for ESPN. She won two Emmy Awards. Antonelli is also a board member of the Kay Yow Cancer Fund, which commemorates his college coach.

Barron played for Wayland Baptist Flying Queens, which went 104-0 from 1954 to 1957 and won three national championships. She was also part of the gold medal winning USA team at the 1957 FIBA ​​World Championship.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.