Skip to content
Bank of America Chicago Marathon 2022 Race, Entry Dates Released – NBC Chicago


Days after this fall’s run, the Bank of America Chicago Marathon released the run and app release dates for 2022.

The 2022 Chicago Marathon is scheduled to take place on October 9, with unsecured entries open to the public on October 19 and guaranteed on October 26, according to a social media post.

Marathon officials noted that all entries will close at 2 p.m. on November 30. Apply here.

The Chicago Marathon features an 18-week Nike Coaches training program to prepare for the big run. Runners can find a training and nutrition guide here.

Marking a triumphant return after the global coronavirus pandemic called off the race last year, the 2021 Chicago Marathon took place on Sunday, drawing thousands of runners to the city streets.

Review the Bank of America Chicago 2021 Marathon coverage here.

At the age of 24, Tura won her very first Abbott World Marathon Majors title by winning the Chicago Marathon, with a time of 2:06:12.

Tura is only the second Ethiopian to win the race, joining 2012 champion Tsegaye Kebede in this category. In total, four Ethiopian women won the title, Tirunesh Dibaba being the most recent to achieve the feat in 2017.

Kenya-born Ruth Chepngetich won the closest women’s race to the Chicago Marathon in six years, with a strong result of 2:22:31.

Her 1:49 margin of victory over Emma Bates was substantial, but in fact marked the closest finish in the women’s race since Florence Kiplagat beat Yebrgual Melese by 10 seconds in a hotly contested race in 2015.

Tatyana McFadden continued to cement her place in the Chicago Marathon record books, beating the field to claim her ninth title in the women’s wheelchair race.

McFadden is not only the most decorated wheelchair racer of all time, with her nine titles eclipsing the six Ann Walters won between 1991 and 1996, but she is also now one of only three women to win the title after finishing second in the previous year’s race, joining Miriam Nibley, who won in 2004, and Candace Cable, who won in 1997.

Daniel Romanchuk has been embroiled in an incredible rivalry with Switzerland’s Marcel Hug in recent years, and he won another trophy of that battle when he won his third straight men’s wheelchair race at the Chicago Marathon.

Romanchuk is the third person to win three straight titles in the race, joining Australia’s Kurt Fearnley, who most recently won in 2009, and James Briggs, who won three straight titles from 1993 to 1995.